Comfort on a Plate


Comfort on a Plate

I think everyone has 1 specific meal that brings them comfort. No matter what is going on in their life at that very moment, they can enjoy that meal and feel immediately better, all their worries melting away.

For my kiddos, when they have a bad day, or when they’ve been away from home for awhile, or are about to leave for awhile, the request is almost always Salisbury Steak with Mashed Potatoes. Tonight they got their “Comfort on a Plate”. It’s been a pretty crazy week for us, and giving them this treat was the least I could do for them. Yesterday we picked the last of the potatoes from the garden, and we had some burger patties left from cheeseburgers on Sunday, so it was a logical choice, really. I also pulled a can of beans from the pantry and cooked up the rest of the carrots from the farmer’s market to round out the meal.

I admit, I do not always cook from scratch and I do buy canned veggies to have on-hand. Hey! I never said I was perfect!!! 😉

 

This entry was posted in Cooking With Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comfort on a Plate

  1. Rebecca says:

    Mmmm, yum. Looks fabulous and very comforting!

    My comfort on a plate is probably roast chicken with all the trimmings (particularly roast potatoes and roast parsnips). Now I live on my own there’s never any point cooking it so my Mum tends to cook it for me as a special treat when I go to visit. Double comfort!

Comments are closed.