I Like to Share


Dinner with Loved Ones

As you know, I love to cook for people! This weekend was a bit of a treat for me, getting to cook for my sis, who I rarely cook for and her foster daughter (the kid) who was getting to experience a dinner in my home for the first time. On Saturday morning, my sis took the kids fishing while I went shopping and to spend some “me” time. By the time I got home, everyone was waiting for dinner (which ended up being very late… but it’s a Holiday weekend, so that’s ok, right? 😉 ) I made Mom’s Stuffed Green Peppers (recipe to follow in a few days), baked potatoes with mushroom brandy sauce (this recipe will also follow sometime this week), and a big ol’ salad topped with tomatoes I picked up from the Farmer’s Market. When the kid saw the platter of salad she excitedly asked “Are you going to take a picture of that?” (This is something she thought was odd about our family at first, but by the end of pickle makin’ weekend she thought it was pretty neat.) But her real excitement came when I told her that the ranch dressing sitting atop her colorful salad was homemade! I wish I could have captured the look on her face. It was pure excitment and joy and it filled me up with excitement and joy, too. I hope the kid enjoyed her weekend here, and will always have good memories to look back on of her time with our family.

This entry was posted in Cooking With Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Like to Share

  1. Mom says:

    I actually don’t make “Stuffed Peppers” anymore. It makes too many for our small family. But, we both like the stuffing, so I do “Hidden Pepper”. This means that I put a pepper half in the bottom of my baking dish and fill it with stuffing and then mound the rest of the stuffing around and on top of the pepper…then bake as usual. And, the stuffing re-heats better without a pepper surrounding it.

  2. Rebecca says:

    I love the ‘hidden pepper’ idea. Looking forward to the recipe.
    And to the mushroom brandy sauce recipe too – sounds fantastic.

    The photo is mouthwatering by the way. I too now regularly photograph my food – something I used to think quite odd but now realise is just normal. It is normal isn’t it?

    Although I think the fellow (Japanese) tourist taking 4 different photos with different cameras at the bar in Cordoba was perhaps just taking things a bit too far.
    🙂

  3. Mom, I pretty much do the same thing… I use just 1 pepper for the whole family and mound the stuffing over the top of the 1 pepper, that gets cut into thirds or quarters…

Comments are closed.