Surprising Edible Goodness


Oh, what excitement I’m feeling today! I was squealing with joy last night as I read the following in Eat Pray Love 

“Then there was a pop-surprise bonus side order brought by the waitress for free– a serving of fried zucchini blossoms with a soft dab of cheese in the middle (prepared so delicately that the blossoms probably didn’t even notice they weren’t on the vine anymore).”

WHAT?! You mean I can actually eat the blossoms on the zucchini plants? It sounds divine! In my excitement I got all giddy, thinking of the beautiful flowers I had been looking at on our zucchini plants, and what a wonderful treat they are going to make. (And in my thoughts I continued on that next year, I will plant more zucchini plants! Neighbors, you’ve been warned.)

I am now researching to find what other plant parts might be edible from our smallish garden, and so far we are eating kohlrabi leaves & beet leaves and have discovered the leaves (but NOT the flowers) on tomato plants are edible, as are the broccoli leaves. I will share my research and our kitchen experiments and hope you will find that a happy side effect of having your own garden is getting more parts of the plant to use and share with your family.

This entry was posted in Books, Cooking With Love, Eat Pray Love, Garden, Journey to Real Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprising Edible Goodness

  1. Just Frances says:

    Nasturtiums and some pansies are edible. I think Rosa L. (Mom and Dad’s neighbor) would have some recipes for zucchini flowers for you!

    Good luck!

  2. Yes, Mom has been telling me about Nasturtiums also… and I found some “volunteer” pansies in our lawn that I transplanted to the berry garden and it has reproduced…

    I have found lots of recipes for the zucchini flowers. I’m excited to try them!!!

Comments are closed.