Windy Lake Day


Last week was insanity piled on top of more insanity. I promised the kiddos we would go to the lake on Saturday. I qualified this promise only with the requirement that they behave and clean their rooms… In hindsight, perhaps I should have mentioned “Depending on the weather”… Come Saturday morning I saw only clouds and felt only wind. But the lake was promised, so the lake received a bit of our family insanity.

We packed up some cheese & crackers (that’s an absolute must for any beach or picnic outing, if you ask me! Just grab a block of cheese and a knife to cut it with and your favorite crackers), watermelon and some cupcakes. The boy child packed up his beach toys and put on his swim shorts, despite the cold wind blowing through town. The girl child & I each grabbed a book for reading.

Arriving at the beach, we saw one lonely truck sitting near the water and the rest of the beach was empty. The empty beach made me want to walk to the far end of the beach, where I had never been, since it was usually crowded. The views were beautiful, even with dark clouds looming over the mountains. And the cold wind did not keep the boy child out of the water! He built his masterpiece near the water’s edge while the girl child walked the beach drawing pictures. I preferred to sit on my beach towel with the book* I just started reading, wrapped up in my blanket. (Once the wind let it go and allowed me to wrap it around my shoulders. We all enjoyed the afternoon sitting at the beach. The wind didn’t even bother us (well, once we got used to it, anyway)… it was the rain that drove us away, eventually, but not before getting our feet a little wet!

*I have just started reading Eat, Pray, Love and though I have not ventured far into the book, yet, I am in love with the writing of Elizabeth Gilbert. Perhaps because I remember some of the same feelings she has expressed in the beginning of her book, or perhaps she writes in the same way I think… but something about this book has drawn me in and I already know I will feel like I’ve been on the journey with her by the end of the book. (And I refuse to see the movie before finishing the book! My girl child has called “dibs” on reading the book after me, because I have told her she has to read it before I will take her to the movie… At least I know I’ll have a movie partner!)

This entry was posted in Books, Cooking With Love, Menus, Picnics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.