…How Does Your Garden Grow?


As the old rhyme goes… 

Mary Mary quite contrary,
How does your garden grow?
With silver bells and cockle shells
And pretty maids all in a row.

Ok… so I don’t have silver bells or cockle shells, and certainly not pretty maids all in a row… oh, but I have tomatoes flowering, corn getting taller by the moment, kohlrabi, brussels sprouts, artichokes, beets, celery, even tomatillos… and of course an assortment of herbs.

For our first attempt at a garden, I think we are doing quite well. The cucumbers did not survive, nor did the pumpkins. But I think the abundance of potatoes and zucchini will more than make up for that. Oh, and the tomatoes… glorious tomatoes! We have at least 15 tomato plants, most of them for canning.

I expected with our first garden we would have only a small harvest. So far, we have not harvested anything except a few golden cherry tomatoes. The rest got a slow start because of our cold and rainy late spring and early summer, which is not typical for our area. It’s been slow growing up until the last 2 weeks. We are seeing blossoms, growth and even a bit of fruit on some plants! We have purple beans! The blossoms are abundant on many of the tomato plants, and on the potatoes, zucchini and acorn squash.

For all our local friends, I will let you know when I have a serious over-flow of vegetation and will be putting baskets out for you to come do your produce shopping! And I hope we do end up with an over-flow, because as I’ve said before, I love to share food and my love of food!

:::Stay tuned to my facebook page for a photo album of the progress of growth. The upload tool is not working at the moment:::

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to …How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. Just Frances says:

    Yay! I’ll take one (and only one) of the zucchini when they get bread-making size!

  2. Jeri Ezell says:

    My dear you can always donate to Jeri’s kids LOL, it really has grown good for you!!

Comments are closed.