My War Against Industry


It’s a different battle every day, and while some may say it’s a losing war, I will not even “agree to disagree”, I simply DISAGREE! I may lose a battle now and then, but I am winning in the war against industrial food. The war for Real Food. The war for taking back my family’s health, one day at a time!

I trust traditional foods. I believe this world was created with all the nutrients we needed to survive and to HEAL. We are an arrogant people to think what we can create in a factory is better for us than what was created in order to sustain life on this planet.

I have always cooked most meals “from scratch”, but in recent years, my busy schedule and laziness got the best of me, and I began using more and more “convenience foods”. I’ve decided those foods aren’t so convenient. Unless you consider getting sick more often than ever and generally feeling awful to be convenient. (I don’t.) I’ve removed most of these foods, but have kept dried pastas and we’re working our way through a large stash of canned foods. In the process, we have (re-)discovered the virtues of Real Food and enjoy not getting sick. (An occasional sniffle, maybe a little fever for the kids here and there… but nothing like we were going through 2 years ago!)

I’ve been reading and researching for a while now, and while I’ve not removed all industrial foods from our kitchen life, I have to say I feel much better about what we’re eating. We’re finding new foods to try and enjoy, and meeting some wonderful people along our journey.

The folks over at Food Renegade have been an amazing source of information for me. I am so happy to be joining their Fight Back Friday Blog Carnival this week.

This entry was posted in Journey to Real Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.