Chicken Tortilla Soup


I made soup today! Using the chicken I roasted on Sunday, I quadrupled the following recipe. I had to… it doesn’t make much and I wanted to SHARE, because I love this so much. So….. I hope Mom & Dad enjoyed their soup I brought them tonight. And tomorrow I am taking 2 bowls to work with me. 1 for me and 1 for a co-worker who always wants to go OUT for lunch and drag me along. But, I’m determined to not go out to eat this month!!! lol
 
On to the recipe::::::::
 CHICKEN TORTILLA SOUP
 
4 (6") corn tortillas
1/2 C onion, chopped
3 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 garlic clove
1/4 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
2 cans (14.5 oz each) Chicken broth
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 can (4 oz) chopped green chilies, undrained
4 tsp. fresh cilantro, snipped
2 oz reduced-fat cheddar cheese, shredded (1/2 C)
4 thick slices fresh lime (optional)

1.) Preheat oven to 400°F. Cut tortillas into 1/2" strips using Kitchen Shears. Place on flat Baking Stone . Bake 7-8 minutes or until crisp.

2.) Meanwhile, chop onion using Food Chopper. Cut chicken into 1/2" pieces using 8" Chef’s Knife . Heat Generation II 4 Qt Casserole over medium-high heat. Spray with vegetable oil using Kitchen Spritzer. Add chicken; cook and stir 3 minutes. Add onion, garlic pressed with Garlic Press , chili powder and cumin. Cook and stir 2 minutes. Stir in broth, tomatoes and chilies. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes.

3.) Snip cilantro using Kitchen Shears . Divide tortilla strips among 4 bowls. Ladle soup over totillas using Nylon Ladle . Shred cheese over top with Deluxe Cheese Grater . Sprinkle soup with cilantro. Garnish each bowl with lime slice to squeeze juice into soup, if desired.

Recipe from The Pampered Chef’s Main Dishes

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.